News Facts About Cuba



& Video




Jaime Lucas Cardinal Ortega - Alamino, is the Archbishop of the Archdiocese of San Cristóbal de La Habana, also known as the Archdiocese of La Habana.

The province of La Habana was founded by Diego Velázquez on 15 November 1515. The first Mass in the province was celebrated on 16 November 1515.

The first university in Cuba was established in 1728 in this province. It was dedicated to San Jerome and was administered by the Dominican Order of Priests. The Seminary of "San Carlos y San Ambrosio" was also established there, and was given recognition by King Charles III of Spain.

Father Félix Varela, who labored so much for the independence of Cuba, was born in this province; his process for beatification began in 1996 and has already been declared a Servant of God. Father José Olallo, who was also declared a Servant of God and whose process for beatification began in 1990, was also born in this province. 

La Habana was declared a Diocese, with the full name of San Cristóbal de La Habana, by His Holiness Pope Pius VI, on 10 September 1787. A Bishop from Puerto Rico, Felipe José de Tres Palacios, became the first Bishop of the Diocese of La Habana.

It was declared an Archdiocese on 6 January 1925 and its first Archbishop was Monsignor Manuel Ruiz y Rodríguez. Monsignor Manuel Arteaga, the second Archbishop of La Habana, was named Cardinal by Pope Pius XII in 1945, thus becoming the first Cuban elevated to the College of Cardenals.

The Archdiocese of La Habana is composed of three provinces: Ciudad de La Habana (Havana City), La Habana, and Isla de la Juventud. Havana City is the capital city of Cuba.

The territorial extension of the archdiocese is 3,006 square kilometers with a population of 2, 777,242 inhabitants.

There are two priestly formation centers in La Habana. One is dedicated to pre-seminarian studies. The other serves as an interdiocesan seminary.

Given the slow growth in priestly and religious vocations, the archdiocese church leaders have developed a strong program for the development of Catholic lay leadership, fully committed to assisting in the pastoral work. 

Regarding the diocesan ecclesiastical leadership, the Archdiocese of La Habana has one bishop, two auxiliary bishops, and one hundred and twelve priests, of which forty-one are diocesan priests and seventy-one are priests from different religious orders. Also, there are two hundred and fifty eight religious nuns, thirteen permanent deacons, and eighteen religious brothers.

The following religious orders of priests and brothers working in the archdiocese are:

Dominican Order

Franciscan Minors

Franciscan Capuchins

Company of Jesus (The Jesuit Order)

Passionist Order

Discalced Carmelites

Salesian Order

Paulist Order

Claretian Order (Missionaries of the Immaculate Heart of Mary)

Brothers of La Salle

Little Brothers of Jesus

Hospital Mission Order of Saint John of God

Sons of Charity

Poor Clerics of The Mother of God


The following religious orders of nuns are working in the archdiocese: 

Religious Nuns of the Sacred Heart of Jesus ( founder: Saint Madeleine Sophie Barat)

Poor Clares

Claretian Nuns

Carmelite Missionaries

Missionaries of Charity (founder: Mother Theresa of Calcutta)

Oblates of Mary Immaculate

Dominican Nuns

Salesian Nuns

Passionist Nuns

Servants of Mary

Servants of the Heart of Mary

Servants of Saint Joseph

Sisters of Charity of Saint Anne

Sisters for the Elderly

Daughters of Charity

Little Sisters of Jesus

Religious of Jesus and Mary

Company of Our Lady

Company of Saint Theresa

Congregation of Saint Dominic

Missionaries of the Immaculate Conception

Sisters of Our Lady of Good Counsel

Sisters of Service

Missionary Servants of the Eucharistic Heart of Jesus

Daughters of the Passion and of our Sorrowful Mother

Sisters of Charity

Nuns of the Love of God


The following lay movements are working in the archdiocese:

Catholic University Students Movement

Christian Family Movement

Catholic Women Movement

Workers Movement

Communion and Liberation Movement

The Holy Spirit Renewal Group

"San Egidio" Community

There are three archdiocesan publications: The Word; ‘Vivarium’; and Christian Life (Jesuit publication)

News Facts About Cuba